Oh Mother Where Art Thou

It’s been seven hours and fifteen days 60 odd days since you took your love away*… and this is a long and complicated story. Admittedly not as long, complicated – or interesting – as Homer’s Odyssey on which O Brother where Art Thou was based, and from which I ‘borrowed’ the title of this post (great film, by the way!), but this is a chance to get it off my chest:

The last time I spoke to my mother was on the eve of my new job, and although I’ve sent emails, cards and postcards since then, not a peep. She’s upset that I’ve moved in with The Man, worried that I’ll get hurt again, as I was by Voldemort, my ex, but I need her love and support now, the love and support she said was unquestioning. I remember her dropping everything and getting on a plane a year ago when my world fell apart, that’s the mother I need now. My sister says, call her up, talk to her, but I won’t: when we spoke two months ago she said she couldn’t do social chat with me anymore, and I’m hardly going to pick up the phone to get a lecture about how everyone’s so worried about me, and that I’ve fallen off the tracks. I’m leading a very happy life at the moment, the only thing missing is some contact with my parents, so I can tell them how my new job and (relatively) new relationship is going. (They’re not blog people so they won’t be keeping up-to-date through harrietdg’s world).

Anyway, rant over, you can choose your friends but you can’t choose your family, I’ve obviously done something quite unforgivable in finding happiness again!

* Lyrics, Nothing Compares 2 U, Sinead O’Connor

~ by harrietdg on July 13, 2008.

Leave a comment