Flat coke

It’s been a long, hard day, what do you reach for when you get home? Well, some days, like many of my acquaintance, it’s a nice glass of chilled, dry, white wine, and some days, unlike many others, it’s a glass of room temperature, flat coke. Yes, that’s right: flat, warm coke! I discovered it courtesy of The Man. It’s not bad actually – I’m not keen on fizzy drinks; I need the caffeine sometimes; and it fulfills the need for something to drink, without it being something ‘to drink’!

I have an awkward relationship with alcohol, having lived with a drinker for too many years. With the desire never to be like him I set myself some rules – the most important one being don’t drink alone. Most of the others are more flexible: not drinking on a ‘school night’; using a small glass; that kind of thing. Anyway, it works pretty well for me, and there’s always some flat coke kicking around too!

~ by harrietdg on August 15, 2008.

Leave a comment